“Type supercheapoem.com in Internet Explorer” Email Is A Spam

I got an email in my inbox two days ago with the title “Type supercheapoem .com ln |nternet Exp|orer”. The content of the email reads “5ave 9O% 0n 50FT\/\/ARE”.

Supercheapoem.com spam email

Since I have no interest in purchasing any software, the email was a total junk to me. In fact, I do not know the sender thus receiving such an email makes it feel like spam. Analyzing the email further, my feeling was further strengthened when some of the letters in the title and content was replaced with symbols instead. Look at the screenshot above and see if you notice which letters were replaced.

Anyway, I checked with the McAfee SiteAdvisor software that I am using. They have not tested the site yet but there was a review by one of the users, dean, an “Experienced Reviewer” and has a reputation score of 9/9. He labeled supercheapoem.com as “Phishing or other scams”. His stats sounds credible to me and here is what he has to say about supercheapoem.com:

This is the infamous “Downloadable Software” scam. The site purports to offer ridiculously low prices on a variety of well-known applications. The prices are so low that the site is an obvious fraud and the software itself, assuming it even exists, is pirated. Examples:

* Adobe Creative Suite 2 Premium – $149.95, you save $1,049.05
* Autodesk AutoCAD 2007 – $129.95, you save $3,865.05
* Office 2003 Professional – $69.95, you save $480.05
* Windows Vista Ultimate – $89.95, you save $310.00

The site has been cloned thousands of times by scammers, often using “throw-away” domain names and is promoted through spam. Typically, the sites are registered in China or the Russian Federation, hotbeds of pirated software activity and identity theft. Caveat emptor.

I did a whois check on supercheapoem.com and found the domain was registered to a guy named Alex Rodrigez. The domain name was only registered about a week ago. I did more searching and found that Alex Rodrigez is just an alias used by Leo Kuvayev (the guy’s real name) to register the domain. In fact, he has an entire Wiki entry made just for him — Leo Kuvayev (Wikipedia).

Leo Kuvayev is believed to be the ringleader of one of the world’s biggest spam gangs. He and six business partners were fined $37 million as a result of a lawsuit brought by the Massachusetts attorney general [1]. It was found that they were responsible for millions of unsolicited e-mails per day.

There is a lot more info about Leo Kuvayev on the Internet. So far, I haven’t read anything positive about him yet. Stay away from supercheapoem.com and any other websites that are offering you a deal that is too good to be true.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *